The 7th Astor Piazzolla competition

Novjaro wins the 7th Astor Piazzolla competition

Novjaro won the first prize in the 7th International Astor Piazzolla competition held in Castelfidardo, Italy 7-9.7.2000. The competition was a part of the Astor Piazzolla -festival. The artistic director was Paolo Picchio.

The winners of the 7th Astor Piazzolla competition:
1st prize - Novjaro, Finland
2nd prize - Tango Fatale, Sweden
3rd prize - Di Girolamo - Di Toro, Italy

The jury:
Aldo Pagani (the chairman) - Italy - the producer and editor of Astor Piazzolla
Aldemaro Romero - Venezuela - conductor, composer and arranger
Ernesto Gordini - Italy - conductor and the artistic director of Agimus
Alex Busanel (absent) - Belgium - composer, producer and editor
Jury's assistent: Angela Fontana

The first Astor Piazzolla competition was held in 1994 and the winner was InTime Quintet from Finland. Winners from other years:
1995 - Quintetto Accento, Austria
1996 - Ensemble Neofonia, Italy
1997 - The Saexophones, Italy
1998 - Venice Chamber Orchestra, Italy
1999 - Alma Dancante Jazz Sextet, Italy